The Division of IT regularly reviews user accounts for expiration or deletion. When an account owner no longer meets the account eligibility requirements, account access to resources will be terminated.
If your account lives on the TIGERS domain and you graduate or leave the University during the winter or summer semesters, your account will be reviewed for eligibility in the beginning of October. If you graduate or leave the university during the fall semester, your account will be reviewed for eligibility in February.
Students who are no longer eligible for a university account will continue to have access to MyZou and Office 365 email. However, other university electronic resources, including Bengal and voicemail, will be deleted. Once these accounts are deleted they cannot be restored. It is important to back up or move information to a non-university resource such as your home computer.
Employee accounts on the UMC-USERS and UM-USERS domains are reviewed for eligibility daily. Once an employee is no longer eligible for an account, the employee and department will be notified via email. The employee will have two weeks before the account will be locked. Once the account is locked the employee will no longer have access to university resources. Mailboxes will be deleted three weeks after the account is locked. Once the mailbox is deleted it cannot be restored. After this time period, about 30 days, the employee will once again have access to myHR.
Employee accounts on the UMHS-USERS domain are reviewed for eligibility daily. Once an employee is no longer eligible for an account, the account will automatically be locked. The employee will no longer have access to resources or email. Mailboxes will be deleted three weeks after the account is locked. Once the mailbox is deleted it cannot be restored. After this time period, about 30 days, the employee will once again have access to myHR.
Account access may be locked at any time when an employee no longer meets eligibility criteria or at the request of an employee’s department.
Resource accounts are reviewed upon expiration date. The sponsor listed for the resource account will be notified via email and must respond by the date listed in the email or the resource account will be locked. If the resource account is still active, the sponsor can renew the account up to another year. If the account is no longer active the sponsor can request that the account be locked and deleted as scheduled per the dates in the email they received.
To learn more about requesting Visitor & Temporary Access